2014 EVENTS:
Holly Bourne, Non Pratt and James Dawson - 30th October
Becca Fitzpatrick - 15th November

Friday, 6 February 2015

REVIEW: Me and Mr J. - Rachel McIntyre

Friday, 6 February 2015
GENRE: YA/Issues
PAGES: 320
FORMAT: Paperback
BUY IT: Waterstones
RATING: 4 Stars

Fifteen-year-old Lara finds her soulmate. There's just one problem - he's her teacher. Lara's life is far from perfect, but being an upbeat kind of person she saves her venting for her diary. It's the only place she can let out her true feelings about the family dramas and hideous bullying she has to face every day. And then a shining light comes out of the darkness - the new young and MALE teacher, Mr Jagger. The one person who takes Lara seriously and notices her potential. The one person who is kind to her. The one person who she falls madly and hopelessly in love with. The one person who cannot love her back ...can he?

This book was really interesting, because I loved it whilst wanting to slap Mr J! Focusing on a variety of controversial issues such as bullying and student/teacher relationships, the story is very current and therefore it's easy to relate to what is going on. At times it was laugh out loud funny, at others it made me think about how I'd deal with the situation if I was Lara. It's clear that this is going to be a book that people either love or hate, but I was firmly in the LOVE camp and read it in one sitting. It's perfect for fans of Cat Clarke.

- Gem.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Content © YA Birmingham. All rights reserved.
Template by Color It YOU. Powered by Blogger.