2014 EVENTS:
Holly Bourne, Non Pratt and James Dawson - 30th October
Becca Fitzpatrick - 15th November

Friday, 22 August 2014

REVIEW: Has Anyone Seen Jessica Jenkins? - Liz Kessler

Friday, 22 August 2014
GENRE: Contemporary
PAGES: 256
FORMAT: Hardback
BUY IT: Waterstones
RATING: 4 Stars

Jessica Jenkins is missing...Jessica Jenkins has always thought she was a perfectly ordinary girl, until the day that part of her arm vanishes in the middle of a Geography lesson! Her best friend Izzy is determined to help Jessica realise what a great opportunity the power to turn invisible could be, but where has her new ability come from? Does this mean she's a superhero? And, when her friends are threatened, can Jessica use her superpower to help?

This an exciting and enjoyable book, perfect for 9-12 readers who love Cathy Cassidy and Jacqueline Wilson. I thought the plot was inventive and clever, and the kind of thing I wish would happen in real life - being able to turn invisible! As the plot progressed, Jessica has to solve the mystery of what is happening to her and her friends. Although it says it is a standalone novel I felt it would make a great series as it was so different from anything else I'd read for this age group, and the way the theme of friendship was dealt with was really clever. I'll definitely recommend this book to people.

- Gem.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Content © YA Birmingham. All rights reserved.
Template by Color It YOU. Powered by Blogger.