2014 EVENTS:
Holly Bourne, Non Pratt and James Dawson - 30th October
Becca Fitzpatrick - 15th November

Tuesday, 1 April 2014

REVIEW: A Boy Called Hope - Lara Williamson

Tuesday, 1 April 2014

GENRE: Contemporary/Issues
FORMAT: Paperback
BUY ITWaterstones
RATING: 5 Stars

This review refers to an uncorrected advance edition.

Thought-provoking and laugh-out-loud funny, A Boy Called Hope is a bold and astonishingly moving book about family life in all its shapes and sizes.

This is a beautifully written book that has a seemingly sad premise - a boy desperate for his dad to love him - but it is dealt with so sensitively that it never becomes sentimental or depressing. Dan is a fabulous narrator, he is wonderfully funny, observant, hopefully and his 11 yr old innocence shines through in some brilliant spoliers, let's just say if you read it when you get to the scene when he reads something he's found in his mum's handbag you will be cracking up with laughter!

The story builds brilliantly, full of little twists and revelations - some more obvious than others - and the ending of the book made me cry for the last 30 pages or was so sad, happy, uplifting and heartbreaking all at once!

This kind of book would appeal to fans of Wonder or John Green - basically anyone who wants a heartfelt and captivating story.

If you come in and purchase A Boy Called Hope, we'll give you an awesome wristband that says "A little hope goes a long way". We totally spoil you guys...

- Gem.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Content © YA Birmingham. All rights reserved.
Template by Color It YOU. Powered by Blogger.